Climbing the highest mountain in my country: Triglav

In a far far away land, in a country called Slovenia, there are emerald rivers and beautiful forests. There is a tiny part of see shore where I originate from, and there are the mountain chains, including the Alps. The highest mountain of them all is a 2864 m high giant named Triglav (almost 9400 ft). We have its symbol also on our national flag. Not long ago I climbed on top of Triglav. The mountain felt like a very good personal trainer. I have learned so much and this are some lessons that I integrated from the experience.

Every trip is a representation of your life.

This was just a mini-version of my big journey, rediscovering what is meaningful to me, and what I have to be careful for. All the strengths and issues, and the situations I found myself in, were a part of how I was functioning at that moment. It was a journey inside myself that counted the most, a path of self-discovery and testing my own limits.
Everything is in your head.

“Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t – you’re right.” ― Henry Ford

We are creating with our thoughts, so we must pay attention to what we are thinking. What is really in our head. What Are we telling ourselves to be, what do we believe in? It’s also important to know that whatever happens, it always helps you to grow and develop. I had the honor and the pleasure to be present and observe all what was happening to me while walking, the good and the bad, so I now know how can I be more mindful in my everyday life.
What is more important, the goal or the path?

I think both is equally important, as without a goal, we probably wouldn’t have so much motivation to start the path, but the path represents 99.999% of the journey, so of course the majority of revelations you are going to experience are before and after your goal has been achieved. My goal was to reach the top of the mountain, but I am a more experienced person because of the path I have walked to get there.


Having good company.

Having a good friend with you, can make the experience twice as fun and informative. If your friend values the same things as you do, you are going to help each other out, even unknowingly. It will enhance your experience. I would also always choose quality over quantity, expression over stubbornness, and listening over controlling. Also know that likeminded people attract each other, almost like magnets. Even if you are alone, you will attract someone similar to you no matter where you go, even on a top of a mountain. I want to thank my dear friend Kaja, for gifting me and taking me on a wonderful journey like that. This was one of the most meaningful birthday gifts so far <3.
Stay positive.

Be flexible and always turn the situation so it can be helpful to you, not the other way around. Being positive also means that you feel safe, as fear will take your precious positivity away from you. And there is a statistical probability that you will succeed earlier, if you rock your positivity.
Patience.

When you think something should be already over, or it is taking too long to complete itself, you are being impatient. Try to redirect your thoughts on to something more creative and productive.
A spiritual experience.

Always when you have to conquer so much, you will have a spiritual experience with it. You are having a spiritual experience always when you are interacting with the non-physical. And when you are walking for hours and hours, on a very severe slope, and you are too tired to talk with your friend beside you, you automatically start talking to the non-physical (let it be your own consciousness, the sky, the universe, God or the mountain itself). Whoever you are talking to, you are forming a spiritual bond that is not defined by physicality. But that does not mean you can not have an exchange of energy with it.
The difference between deciding what you want and making a wish.

There is a difference between making a decision and making a wish. The second is the expression, or the manifestation of the first one. Your decision is not enough to get results. We have to start expressing the decision, let it be with a straightforward action or with communicating the wish to somebody else. The aim is to make a wish to redirect your perception, and thus the outcome of the situation.

Make a wish and manifest your desires.

Try to express your desires in any shape or form. I had the beautiful opportunity to watch the mountain sky at night in front of the cottage. And I saw 4 shooting stars in barely 5 minutes. This was a beautiful opportunity to actually consciously lead my intentions, and redirect my life in the way that I felt and desired. Always wish for something meaningful, a feeling rather than a possession.
Respect your body.

I am still learning how to use my energy properly. How much do I spend it and how much do I retract. You will probably think that it wasn’t wise what I have done… And it actually wasn’t wise or smart at all… I went on a 2 day high intensity trip with only a maximum 3 hours of sleep. Because I was tired and exhausted after the first day of walking, I haven’t really eat as much as I should. The night on the top of the mountain was too exciting for me to even sleep properly, so I again slept only for 4 hours. My backpack was full of un-useful stuff, that was making it super heavy, in comparison with what other hikers were caring with them. Also while returning back I felt pain in my knees, because they were not used to this kind of exercise at all. I’ve learned a very important lesson: to respect my body and its limits. Sometimes I overdo things, and it can throw me out of balance. Luckily I eat a healthy vegan diet, but I have to fuel my body with other things too, to keep it happy and satisfied. Balancing my time to sleep and exercise, and hydration are also very important. Maybe is not super important to me, but it sure is super important to my body, so I have to respect that.

When things don’t go your way.

What if you suppose everything will go smoothly, but then you get stuck or you get hurt in a way? Try to not freak out. I do believe whatever is happening to you at the moment is always meaningful. I choose to find meaning and reason in everything. (In other words: Everything happens for a reason). You will reach your destination only, when you will discover all the things inside of you, that are not in alignment with the state of being you are striving for. Accept the circumstance that occurs and use it in your favor. That would be a very effective way to use your time.
Reaching the top!

Reaching the top filled me with love and gratitude. I was happy to have come so far. I was breathing the diluted air in the crown of our highest mountain. Having the ability to do all this is incredible. And knowing myself, nothing could be more exciting for me then seeing animals at the end of the journey. A flock of alpine choughs (Pyrrhocorax graculus) have totally astonished me. Their impressive skills to fly and move themselves in beautiful three-dimensional shapes is something I will never forget. I don’t want to sound cheesy, but being grateful is the best way to bring more magic and sychronicity into your life. It does fuel people with motivation to live an engaging life. Nevertheless I rediscovered something I already knew before: Overcoming the challenges gives you some of the greatest joys of all.

Leave a comment